Make your own free website on

G. W. Thomas Presents

 HARRY D'AMOUR (1985-1996) by Clive Barker

Barker wrote on the Liner notes on unrated laser disc, 1996:

"I've travelled a long way with Harry D'Amour. He first appeared in a story I wrote almost a decade ago now, 'The Last Illusion'. Since then, I've recounted his life and troubled times in two novels and some short fiction. I've not made the road very easy for him. His destiny, it seems, is to be in constant struggle with what might be loosely called 'the forces of darkness', though he claims he'd be quite content investigating insurance fraud. His reluctance is, trust, part of his charm. He's not a Van Helsing, defiantly facing off against some implacable evil with faith and holy water. His antecedents are the troubled, weary and often lovelorn heroes of film noir - private detectives with an eye for a beautiful widow and an aversion to razors."


1. "The Last Illusion" (1985) The Books of Blood Vol.
2. "Lost Souls" The Books of Blood Vol.
3. The Great & Secret Show (1989)
4. Everville (1994)


1. The Lords of Illusion (1996)