Make your own free website on

G. W. Thomas Presents

Lewis Barnavelt (1972) by John Bellairs
(later with Brad Strickland)

"Do you have any idea what it is like to be buried deep in the earth, dark stone all around, no one to hear you or see you, your only company a dead man? Do you?" -- Mrs. Izard

 Lewis Barnavelt was John Bellairs' first kid ghost-buster. He would create two others: Johnny Dixon and Anthony Monday. of the three Lewis seems the least attractive. An orphan living with his eccentric Uncle Jonathan and his unusual neighbor Mrs. Zimmermann, Lewis is thrust into terrifying situations which he always seems to conquer in the end.

1. The House with a Clock in Its Walls (1973)
            2. The Figure in the Shadows (1975)
            3. The Letter, the Witch, and the Ring (1976)
            4. The Ghost in the Mirror (1993) (with Brad Strickland)
            5. The Vengeance of the Witch-Finder (1993) (with Brad Strickland)
            6. The Doom of the Haunted Opera (1995) (with Brad Strickland)

 Check out Bellairsia Website